Around the May Garden

DSCN2058DSCN2059DSCN2054DSCN2067DSCN2066DSCN2096DSCN2098.JPGDSCN2103DSCN2106DSCN2111DSCN2112DSCN2084DSCN2086

DSCN2087
Our Green Man from Teresa’s Ceramics on Etsy. Check her out here!

DSCN2075

The May garden is full of blossoms! We are excitedly planting feverfew, cosmos, tomatoes, and herbs and cutting lovely Victorian Climbing roses for our table. We are so lucky to be surrounded by so much beauty.

We recently added a Green Man to our garden. Green Men are benevolent forest spirits, said to watch over growing things. We wanted to infuse some magic into our garden, so our new green man now watches over the newly planted herbs and flowers. Hopefully he will bring us a good harvest! From what I’ve read, Green Men are a pre-Christian symbol of growth and fertility and can be found depicted in many locations primarily across Europe. Despite their status as “pre-Christian icons” Green Men are often found carved on churches, a curious occurrence that I can’t seem to find much explanation for online. I regret that I didn’t go searching for Green Men more when I was living in England! Next time I’m in Devon I’ll go looking…

We are soaking in the sunshine and eating more and more fresh things from the garden (and hopefully from the Farmer’s Market this weekend). I’m excited for my upcoming travels, though I may be off the blog for a week or so… I’ll see what I can do.

Sending sunshine xx

For more on Green Men go here: http://bit.ly/1TdY55l
and also here: http://bit.ly/1HtH4M4

2 thoughts on “Around the May Garden

Leave a Reply

