Ritual and Rhythm: Daily Walks

DSCN0880DSCN0876DSCN0884DSCN0806

DSCN0886
A few days later…

DSCN0916DSCN0909

DSCN0917
A Double-Crested Cormorant (harbinger of warmer weather) made an appearance.
DSCN0922
The whole flock of Northern Shovelers took off at once, flying in a cloud away from the lake.

I’ve been trying to find time to take a walk every day. I realized when I was at Kenyon, I had to walk at least 30 minutes each day to and from the dining hall or to and from class. The rhythm was intrinsic, part of my comings and goings on campus and the only way to navigate our little college on the hill. Now however, walking has become a choice, a luxury, a non-essential part of my daily life. My commute to work is a bit too far to walk (without setting 30 minutes aside) so I rely on my trusty hatchback to drive around the city. Of course, I do still take walks frequently, but without the necessity of making it to class on time, or eating dinner, my excursions lost regularity. So, in order to remedy this situation, my dear friend Chloe and I (Chloe is currently studying baroque violin in the Netherlands) have decided to hold each other accountable for daily walks. We send little updates about the weather, pictures of puddles or squirrels, and it’s become a new part of my rhythm, once again an essential part of my day. A few days ago at the lake nearby, I watched an entire flock of Northern Shoveler ducks “hoovering” the algae and little bits of vegetable matter from the top of the lake. As I continued past them and made my way to the other side of the lake, the entire flock took off, whirling up into the air and growing smaller in the distance. How amazing!

Meanwhile around the garden… daffodils are blooming! New shoots poke up from the sleepy earth, squirrels, finches, and robins visit and quench their thirst at the bird bath. And sometimes, if you’re really lucky, a bluejay will alight.

DSCN0766DSCN0853DSCN0846DSCN0782.JPGDSCN0850DSCN0896DSCN0891DSCN0892.JPGDSCN0858

The nature table is beginning to reflect the burgeoning spring! I had to move its location in the house, but I think the new table is a better size – a little smaller, but more intimate and therefore each fairy or twig or blossom has to be even more carefully selected.

Sending peaceful thoughts to all.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

