The Wisdom of Birds

dscn0073

dscn0062
This goldfinch was captured through my window, (which has very old glass) so the image looks a bit “softer” than the others.

dscn0151dscn0090

dscn0085
I always think they look like little nuns from behind with black wimples on their heads.

dscn0076dscn0132

dscn0115
A “hooded merganser” made an appearance at the lake. Apparently these are rare birds to spy in Colorado!

DSCN0125.JPGdscn0138dscn0143

dscn0158
My mom fills the frozen bird bath with boiling water so the birds and squirrels can have a drink.

dscn0170

What busy months have passed since my last post! The Holidays were filled up to the brim, and I feel so grateful for all the love and generosity I experienced. We had a quiet Christmas here, focusing on family and good food and gathering around the Christmas tree. We ate homemade thumbprint cookies, drank champagne, and I rang in the New Year with Kevin and a friend who was visiting from Kenyon. Now, I feel reinvigorated for this space, and excited to start a New Year! I realized today that it’s almost been a year since I started this blog, and I feel even more determined and enthused by the prospect of growing, expanding, and (of course) writing more.

I suppose my big news is I received a new camera (!!!) as a belated graduation present. It’s a Nikon B700, perfect for snapping pictures of wildlife with its 60X zoom. I’ve been thoroughly enjoying ambling about the garden and neighborhood, taking pictures of birds and furry friends along the way. One of the most lovely things about my new gift is that I find I’m slower on walks, taking time to notice the details. The birds in particular have been wonderful to watch. I have a fondness for Canadian geese, (though perhaps an unpopular opinion), and I love seeing them as they waddle across the frozen lake. As I mentioned in the photo caption, we also have a hooded merganser visiting us for a while, and my mom and I enjoyed a delightful stroll by the lake watching him scrupulously groom himself.

Perhaps most notably, a few weeks ago, my mom and I noticed a bald eagle perched in a tree by the lake (alas I didn’t have my camera yet!) He swooped over to another tree right at the water’s edge, gazing down at the quickly scattering gulls below. Soon after, we saw a second eagle standing on the ice in the middle of the lake. No sooner had we spied her than she took off and circled the lake before flying off to the north. It was so incredible and so strange to see these special birds in the middle of the city. I’ve been thinking often about how magical it is to see these wild creatures up close, as they remind us we are sharing the landscape with many other beings, though we often imagine it’s ours.

My other exciting news is the addition of a desk to my room as a writing and working space. I’ve been craving a place to work for a while where I can shut the door and be left to my own devices. Though my room is a bit small, the addition of the desk makes me feel as though I have more control over my creative space.

dscn0174

dscn0207
My Lewis Chessman replica from the British Museum.
dscn0177
A HIGHLY recommended read! Get your copy here.
DSCN0212.JPG
My new lamp arrived today!

I can’t wait to see what places I will go sitting at my desk. Kevin and I have resolved to write more in the new year, and I feel like I’m coming out of the woods in a way. Here’s to raspberry leaf tea, a cozy lamp, and afternoons that stretch into evenings for pondering and writing and dreaming.

dscn0159

Sending love to all.

Leave a Reply

